Money Talk: Computing Holiday Pays in PH

Money Talk: Computing Holiday Pays in PH

For employees, holidays means vacation – and a great time for them to spend more quality moments with their loved ones. While for employers and human resource personnels, a holiday is an adjustment to one’s payslip – and a holiday pay is required to be given for workers.

blog-holiday-pays-ph

Shutterstock

As the employer, it’s your money that you will use to pay for those adjustments, that’s why you should be responsible on knowing how to calculate holiday pays. In this article, we had prepared a list of holidays in the Philippines for this year 2017 to keep you in track of everything. We will also distinguish the differences between each holiday type (regular and special (non working)) when it comes to computation of holiday pay.

List of Philippine Holidays for 2017

Here is a list of holidays in the Philippines for the year 2017 as stated in Proclamation No. 50. These holidays are already classified into two types: Regular and Special (Non Working), as specified in the Labor Code of the Philippines.

Regular

  • January 1, 2017, Sunday – New Year’s Day
  • April 9, 2017, Sunday – Araw ng Kagitingan
  • April 13, 2017 – Maundy Thursday
  • April 14, 2017 – Good Friday
  • May 1, 2017, Monday – Labor Day
  • June 12, 2017, Monday – Independence Day
  • August 28, 2017, last Monday of August – National Heroes’ Day
  • November 30, 2017, Thursday – Bonifacio Day
  • December 25, 2017, Monday – Christmas Day
  • December 30, 2017, Saturday – Rizal Day

Special (non-working) days

  • January 2, 2017, Monday – based on Proclamation No. 117
  • January 28, 2017, Saturday – Chinese New Year
  • February 25, 2017, Saturday – EDSA Revolution Anniversary
  • April 15, 2017 – Black Saturday
  • August 21, 2017, Monday – Ninoy Aquino Day
  • October 31, 2017, Tuesday – additional special (non-working) day
  • November 1, 2017, Wednesday – All Saints’ Day
  • December 31, 2017, Sunday – last day of the year

Regular vs Special (Non Working)

One great difference between regular and special (non-working) holidays is when it comes to how employers should pay their workers. Below is a simple infographic which will help you distinguish the calculations to be used once your employee falls between either of the two holiday types:

holidaypaymatrix-1024x982

www.gov.ph